Find an Answer
Here you can review frequently asked questions regarding session recording and playback. Please see Record a Session for details about starting and stopping session recording, as well as modifying the recording settings.
The features that are available on your account may vary depending on your subscription plan.
Please see Record a Session for details about starting and stopping session recording, as well as modifying the recording settings.
With regular session recording (also known as "local recording"), the recording file is saved locally to the organizer's computer. The organizer or co-organizer who starts recording a session will have it saved to their local hard drive as a .G2M file. They will then need to use the Recording Manager to convert that raw recording file into a viewable format (e.g., .MP4), which they can then share directly with others or upload to the My Recordings page in their web account.
With online recording, the recording is automatically stored in the cloud and many of these steps are skipped! The organizer or co-organizer who starts recording a session will see a new entry automatically appear on their My Recordings page once the session has ended. There's no need to convert the file or manually upload it – it just appears! The only thing the organizer needs to do is click Share to process it for viewing (if they decide to share the recording with others).
Another major benefit is that online recording can include shared webcams in the recording file, while local recording does not. See Record a Session for more information about changing your recording settings.
Note: Online recording cannot be used with password-protected webinars. In that case, local recording will automatically be used.
By default, local recordings are stored in
C:\Users\<user>\Documents. The original "pre-converted" .G2M files are stored in a subfolder called "originals" after a successful conversion has finished. See Locate Recording Files for more information.
If you are using online recording, then the main recording of the webinar will always be saved to the My Recordings page of the organizer who scheduled the session, regardless of which organizer or co-organizer actually started/stopped the recording.
Local recordings are stored a little differently; the local recording of a webinar will be saved to the hard drive of the organizer or co-organizer who last clicked Start Recording. If different organizers started and stopped recording multiple times, then multiple partial recordings will be saved to each respective co-organizer’s computer.
For example, let’s say that scheduling organizer Sue starts recording for a bit and then stops it. Later on during that same webinar, co-organizer Jerry starts recording again and then the session ends. In that case, a single online recording is saved to Sue’s My Recordings page. The local recording, however, is split up into the 2 different portions and the first one is saved to Sue’s computer, while the second is saved to Jerry’s computer.
No, GoToWebinar does not include integrated payment options.
GoToWebinar does not have a maximum storage limit, so you don't need to worry about how much you have left!
You can convert a session recording into any of the following formats:
The typical length of a recording is 1-3 hours. Please note that running extensively long sessions may result in recording failures.
Yes, as long as the session has been converted to .MP4 format it can be viewed from any device.
Yes. If you use online recording and are using GoToMeeting integrated audio (i.e., VoIP or PSTN), then the audio conference will automatically be included. If you use online recording and are using your own audio conference information, then audio will not be included in the recording.
If you use local recording (which saves your recordings as files on your computer), then the Recording Preferences will determine if and how audio is included in session recordings. The following options are available:
If you use local recording (which saves your recordings as files on your computer), then you can modify the settings so that only the shared screen is included by selecting the "Don't record audio" option under Recording Preferences.
If you use online recording, then it is not possible to exclude the audio conference from the session recording.
Yes. If you're using your own conference call number, you must have a sound card and an audio input device like a microphone to record audio. If you're recording a teleconference, you can position the microphone next to the phone or set up a phone recording adapter to your phone and line-in input on your computer's sound card. If you're having trouble with your audio, see Audio Help.
Note: If you use online recording and are using your own audio service, then it is not possible to include the audio conference in the session recording.
Yes. You can use third-party editing software such as TechSmith Camtasia® to edit recording files. Just make sure that they have been converted first.
Yes. You can upload your recorded sessions to the cloud so that your attendees can access them from any device.
Remember that if you choose to save your recordings online, they will be automatically posted to your My Recordings page.
Yes. After you've uploaded a recording to the My Recordings page, you can also attach the recording to follow-up emails by clicking Edit next to Follow-up Email on the Manage Webinar page. Then click Select a Recording under the email template to upload a recording to the follow-up email.