Share Your Webcam (Desktop App) - GoToWebinar

Find an Answer

Search GoToWebinar articles, videos and user guides   Your search term must have 2 or more characters.

Browse Articles

Share Your Webcam (Desktop App)

You can use high-definition video conferencing to meet face-to-face with your other session participants. Up to 6 different webcams can be shared during a session! All you need is an internet connection and a webcam to begin enjoying a telepresence-quality experience.

Below you'll find information on managing your own webcam. Also see Manage Your View of Webcams (Desktop App).

Note: This feature is only available for staff members (Presenters, panelists and organizers).

Preview your webcam

  • Before you start sharing your webcam, go to Preferences > Webcam to see a preview.

Share your webcam

There are multiple places on the Control Panel and Grab Tab where you can turn on your webcam, as follows:

  • In the Webcam pane, click the Share My Webcam button or click the Webcams drop-down menu and select Share My Webcam.
  • In the Grab Tab, click the Webcam button so that it turns green .
  • In the Attendees pane, right-click your name and select Share My Webcam or click the Webcam icon next to your name.

 

Pause/restart sharing your webcam

When you pause webcam sharing, other attendees will still see the webcam box with your name, but the screen will be blacked out until you resume sharing. This does not free up a webcam spot (e.g., if all 6 webcam spots are filled, another attendee will not be able to start sharing their webcam).

  • Click the Pause icon at the top of your webcam box in the Viewer. Click the Play icon to restart sharing.

Stop sharing your webcam

When you stop webcam sharing, your webcam box will disappear and the webcam spot will be freed for another attendee to share their own webcam. You can do so in any of the following places:

  • In the Grab Tab, click the green Webcam icon so that it turns gray.
  • In the Webcam pane, click the Stop Sharing My Webcam button or click the Webcams drop-down menu and select Stop Sharing My Webcam.
  • In the Attendees pane, right-click your name and select Stop Sharing My Webcam or click the Webcam icon next to your name.
  • In the Viewer, click the Stop icon at the top of your webcam box in the Viewer.
  • In the Viewer, click the Webcams drop-down menu and select Stop Sharing My Webcam.

See Share your webcam for information about restarting webcam sharing after it's been stopped.

Start or stop webcam sharing for other attendees

Note: This feature is available to organizers and co-organizers only.

Organizers can send webcam requests to attendees in either of the following ways:

  • In the Attendees pane, click the Webcam icon next to the attendee's name.
  • In the Attendees pane, right-click an attendee's name and select Send Webcam Request from the drop-down menu.

Organizers can turn off attendee webcams in any of the following ways:

  • In the Attendees pane, click the Webcam icon next to the attendee's name. Attendees will see a yellow tool tip or dialog indicating that the organizer has closed their webcam feed.
  • In the Attendees pane, right-click an attendee's name and select Stop Webcam Sharing.

 

Related

DRAFT Desktop app - Manage webcams views.htm

Invite Others to Join (Desktop App)

Share Your Screen (Windows)

Change Presenter (Desktop App)

Give Keyboard and Mouse Control (Desktop App)

Manage Attendees (Desktop App)

Add Co-Organizers (Desktop App)

Add Panelists

Dashboard

See the Audience View

Polls

Question and Answer

Try Labs Features

Send Chat Messages (Desktop App)

Use Drawing Tools (Desktop App)

In-Session FAQs