Shared Screens - GoToAssist Corporate - LogMeIn

Find an Answer

Search GoToAssist Corporate articles, videos and user guides   Your search term must have 2 or more characters.

Browse Articles

Shared Screens

HelpAlert allows you to view your customer's screen in real time using the representative Viewer window.

Topics in this article:

View the customer's screen

Share your own screen

Stop, pause and re-start screen sharing

View the customer's screen

Note: Depending on your account's configuration, screen sharing may begin as soon as a customer joins or is upgraded to a standard support session.

  1. Click the Share Customer's Screen icon in the Chat box toolbar, or select Screen Sharing > Share Customer's Screen in the menu.
  2. Depending on your account's configuration, the customer will be prompted to approve screen sharing. They can click OK to continue.

  1. The HelpAlert Viewer window will open and display the customer's screen.

Share your own screen

Note: This feature is not available while in session with Mac customers.

  1. Click the Share My Screen icon in the Chat box toolbar, or select Screen Sharing > Share My Screen in the menu.
  2. You will be prompted to approve screen sharing. Click OK to continue.

  1. The customer Viewer window will open on the customer's desktop and display your screen.
  2. Grant the customer view-only or remote-control access to your screen using the Chat box menu, as follows:
    • Select Screen Sharing > Allow Customer to View Only to allow them to view your screen but not move your mouse.

    • Select Screen Sharing > Give Customer Mouse and Keyboard to allow them to both view your screen and share control of your mouse and keyboard.

Stop, pause and re-start screen sharing

Use the icons in the Chat box toolbar to control screen sharing, as follows:

  • To stop sharing the customer's screen or your own screen, click the Stop icon or select Screen Sharing > Stop Screen Sharing from the menu.

  • To pause the sharing of your own screen, click the Pause icon or select Screen Sharing > Pause Screen Sharing from the menu.

  • To continue sharing your own screen while it is paused, click the Play icon or select Screen Sharing > Resume Screen Sharing from the menu.

    Note: Wait at least 10 seconds before re-starting screen sharing to avoid errors.

Related articles

Annotation Tools

File Transfer

Reboot and Reconnect

Remote Diagnostics

Run as a Service

Request Windows Login Credentials

Scripted Messages and URLs

Session Collaboration (Invite to Session)

Features Overview

Transfer Sessions