Customer Chat Box - GoToAssist Corporate

Find an Answer

Search GoToAssist Corporate articles, videos and user guides   Your search term must have 2 or more characters.

Browse Articles

Customer Chat Box

Once a customer joins your support session, the customer Chat box will automatically open on their screen. Customers can use it to exchange chat messages with you, stop and start screen sharing, send files to you and view diagnostic information about their own computer. A status panel at the bottom of the box reminds the customer when they are sharing their screen.

Note: Access to many features and tools is dependent upon your account's configuration, so not all features may be available to you. See Access Optional Features for more information.

Topics in this article:

Access session features and tools

Chat with representatives

Save the chat log

Collapse, minimize or collapse the Chat box

Access session features and tools

The customer Chat box menu provides access to all of the session features available to the customer. The toolbar also provides buttons for quick access to many of the most common features (e.g., stop/start screen sharing, file transfer, remote diagnostics).

  • Stop or pause screen sharing
    Customers can click the Stop or Pause icons to stop sharing their screen with you at any time. If they stop sharing their screen (rather than pause it), you must request to see it again (i.e. the customer cannot restart screen sharing from their Chat box).

  • Enable or disable your control of their screen
    Customers can switch between "view-only" and "full keyboard and mouse" remote control during a support session, which will enable or disable the your ability to control their screen (Screen Sharing > View-Only or Full Keyboard and Mouse).

  • Use annotation tools
    Customers can also use annotation tools to draw on the shared screen (Screen Sharing > Pen, Highlighter, Laser Pointer or Arrow Stamper).

  • Transfer files and folders
    Customers can click the File Transfer icon to send a file or folder to the technician (or click Tools > Send Files). They can also view a list of transfers under Tools > Show Transfers).

  • View remote diagnostics
    Customers can view and copy system information about their own computer (Tools > Diagnostic Information). The customer can copy this information by clicking Copy all to Clipboard or right-clicking a specific item and selecting Copy to Clipboard.

  • Revoke login credentials
    While you may request to have the customer's credentials stored for the duration of the session to enable them to unlock or reboot the customer's computer, they can revoke that ability at any time under ToolsRevoke My Credentials.

Chat with representatives

The customer Chat box allows the customer to communicate with you. All messages are included in the chat log, along with automatically generated status notes (i.e., representatives joining or leaving, file transfers). To send a message, customers can click within the text field at the bottom of the window, type their message, then click Send or press Enter on their keyboard.

In addition, customers who submit their query via SmartBox™ portal and are placed in the queue will receive status updates in the Chat box.

Save the chat log

Customers can save the chat history as a .txt file.

1. Click File > Save Chat Log.

2. Select the destination and rename the file, if desired.

3. Click Save when finished.

Collapse, minimize or collapse the Chat box

  • Collapse Chat box – Customers can collapse the Chat box so that only the menu and toolbar are displayed (and the Chat log is hidden) by clicking the Collapse icon (or selecting Tools > Collapse). They can expand the window by clicking the icon again.

  • Minimize Chat box – Customers can minimize the Chat box to the taskbar (like any other application window) by clicking the Minimize button at the top of the window.

  • Hide Chat box – Customers can hide the Chat box (without leaving the session) by clicking the Hide button at the top of the window. They can re-open the window by double-clicking the HelpAlert icon in the system tray.

Did this article answer your question?
Yes
No
Why?