Shared Access (GoToMyPC Corporate only) - GoToMyPC

Find an Answer

Search GoToMyPC articles, videos and user guides   Your search term must have 2 or more characters.

Browse Articles

Shared Access (GoToMyPC Corporate only)

Shared Access is a feature available only on GoToMyPC Corporate accounts. If your company account is enabled with shared access, your administrator may give access rights to other users - usually those who manage your PC.

For example, your company's IT specialist may use GoToMyPC Corporate to remotely maintain your PC. If your administrator has enabled shared access to your PC, you will:

  • Receive an email from GoToMyPC Global Customer Support notifying you that your administrator has enabled shared access on your PC with at least 1 other user.
  • Be asked to provide the additional user with your access code. After the other user logs in to your PC, we recommend that you change your access code.

This feature is not available for Mac computers.

 

 

 

Access Codes for Shared Users

When a secondary user is granted access to a host PC, he or she inherits the owner's original access code. The secondary user will use this access code even if the owner changes his or her access code afterward.  If the original access code is forgotten by both the secondary user and the owner, then the administrator will need to revoke the original invitation and grant a new one so that the secondary user can inherit the new access code. If the secondary user has physical access to the host PC, he can change the access code by following the steps described in the Forgot Your Access Code section.

Note:  If a shared access user fails to log in after 3 attempts, all users who have access to that PC will be locked out. Contact your administrator to unlock the PC.

If you have any questions about shared access to your PC, please contact your administrator.

In-Session Reboot

The In-Session Reboot feature enables you to remotely reboot your host PC and log back in with your Windows login credentials. This feature is exclusive to accounts that have the Shared Access feature enabled. Your administrator must enable the feature at the user or group level in the GoToMyPC Administration Center.

Related Topics

Authentication Preferences