Find an Answer
File transfer enables GoToMyPC users to quickly and easily move files between the host and client computers.
You can also transfer files between computers by simply dragging and dropping during a session.
Remember, the host is the computer on which the GoToMyPC program is actually installed, and the client is the computer from which you are remotely accessing the host.
To transfer files
1. From the Viewer menu bar, select Tools and then Transfer or Sync Files.
Click the File Transfer shortcut in the upper right-hand corner of the Viewer window.
The File Transfer window opens. The files from your remote computer (host) are displayed in the left pane and files from your local computer (client) are displayed in the right.
2. Open the folder where you want to store the transferred files.
3. Select the file or folder you wish to move and click the Transfer button.
Note: If you are having difficulty transferring files from Windows Vista or Windows 7, it could be that you are attempting to transfer files from a folder that requires privilege elevation. To transfer these files, first transfer them to a folder you have permission to write to, and then move them to their final destination using Windows explorer.
To drag and drop files
Note: Ensure that you are actually dragging the file from the Viewer window to your client computer (or vice versa) and not just moving the file around within the same window.
Files transfers can be completed from either the Mac menu bar or the GoToMyPC Viewer.
To transfer a file from the menu bar
To transfer files with the GoToMyPC Viewer
Note: Files can also be transferred while in full-screen mode by expanding the GoToMyPC menu bar at the top of the screen.
File Transfer Progress and File Canceling
The progress of the file transfer is displayed at the bottom of the viewer window. (a) In full-screen mode, the file transfer status can be displayed by hovering over the grab-tab at the bottom of the screen.
The file transfer can be canceled by clicking the Cancel button next to the progress indicator. (b)
The file transfer can also be canceled by clicking the Cancel File Transfer option from the File Transfer menu. This is useful while in full-screen mode.
Note: The file transfer is automatically canceled if the user ends the session, logs off or performs a fast user switch on the host.
Locating a Transferred File
Once a transfer completes, the location of the transferred file is displayed at the bottom of the Viewer. The destination folder can also be opened by clicking the Show in Finder/ Explorer button (a) at the end of the message. By default, transferred files are saved in the Downloads folder of the destination computer.
Note: In Windows XP and earlier, if the Downloads folder does not exist, the transferred file is saved on the Desktop of the destination computer. The location of the file is always displayed at the bottom of the viewer and clicking on the "Show in Finder/ Explorer" icon can open the folder.
Note: The file transfer does not overwrite any files. If a file with the same name exists in the destination folder, the transferred file is renamed by appending a number at the end (e.g. Technical Overview-1.ppt).
Note: The file transfer menu option and the icon are disabled if the user locks the screen of the host computer or logs off the host computer.