Create & Approve Changes - GoToAssist Service Desk

Find an Answer

Search GoToAssist Service Desk articles, videos and user guides   Your search term must have 2 or more characters.

Browse Articles

Create and Approve Changes

Changes – short for ITIL's term "Request for Change (RFC)" – refers to any changes being made to the service or any of its components (including configuration items). Change records allow technicians to not only justify why time and money is being spent on the change effort, but also to track and streamline the effort and any other components that might be related. Changes can stem from many sources, such as fixes for incidents or problems, new or improved functionality within the service, additions or modifications to configuration items or updates to the service (e.g., new compliance obligations). Service Desk change forms are designed to enable the following development process: planning, approval, building, and testing.

Topics in this article:

Create a change and fill out the Plan tab

Submit a change for approval

Approve a submitted change

Create a change and fill out the Plan tab

Agents can log in to the Service Desk web application to create and track changes.

1. Log in at http://desk.gotoassist.com.

2. Go to Change > New Change.

3. Select the service under which the change should be created.

4. A new record form is created whenever a change is added to a service. Change records use the same basic layout as other record forms and can be filled out as follows:

Summary

The summary section lists all the basic information about the record, including the following:

  • Service – The service to which the record belongs

  • Record ID – The individual ID used to distinguish between records

  • Owner – The technician who created the record

  • Title – The title of the record

  • Assignee – The technician to whom the record is assigned

  • Priority – The priority level assigned to the record

  • Due live – The date that the change are release is scheduled to be finished, as selected by the technician

  • Custom Fields – Any custom fields created under service settings

Plan tab & Status

The Plan tab lists all the content needed for development to be done, including the following:

  • Submit Plan Due Date – The date by which the plan tab of the record form should be submitted to an approver

  • Type – The record's type (as configured by an administrator under service settings)

  • Custom Fields – Any custom fields created under service settings

  • Description – A space to explain the change that is needed and the situation that caused it to be added

  • Reason/Justification – A space to propose the business value for the organization's resources being dedicated to completing this change (i.e., how important is it to the service that this change be completed?)

  • Discussion – A space to include any further details, discuss the development of the record and include updates as development continues; comments can be prevented from appearing in the Customer Portal by selecting the "Hide from customers" check box

  • Impact Analysis – A space to estimate the impact that completing the change will have on the service (i.e., how will this change affect customers, either negatively or positively

  • Complexity – Select the level of complexity that developing the change would entail (low, medium or high)

  • Risk – Select the risk to the service that developing the change would create (low, medium or high)

  • Estimated hours req. – An estimate of how many hours developing the change would require

  • Assignee – The technician to whom the record is assigned

  • Watchers – The watchlist is a list of individuals and groups who are "watching" a particular record (click x person watching. Invite more... link to modify list); when the "Notify watchlisted" check box is selected when a record is saved, watchlisted individuals and groups receive notifications about the changes

  • Notify watchlisted – When this box is selected, all watchlisted individuals will receive a notification about the changes; in addition, technicians can add a particular group to receive the notification on a per-record basis (without being added to the watchlist)

  • Submit for approval – When the change plan is ready to be submitted to an approver to be declined or approved (see Submit Changes for Approval for more information)

  • Close – Closing a record means that there is no more work to be done and the record is completely finished

Tasks tab

Each record can have an unlimited number of tasks assigned to it. See Add Tasks for more information.

Linked Items

Service Desk allows records to be linked to customers, configuration items and other records. This helps ensure that related items are easily visible and the connections between them and other items within Service Desk are visible. Since the need for changes often stems from incidents or problems, this is a good opportunity to link them to the change so that they appear within each other's records.

  • Link customers – Use the search box to find and select customers who are affected by or related to the record (only 1 customer may be linked to each record).
  • Link incidents – Click the Add icon to link related incidents to the record, then select "search existing" or "create new." There is also an option to include the incident's symptom and resolution within the link (visible by clicking it).
  • Link problems – Click the Add icon to link related problems to the record, then select "search existing" or "create new." There is also an option to include the problem’s symptom and resolution within the link (visible by clicking it).
  • Link knowledge articles – Click the Add icon to link related knowledge articles to the record, then select "search existing" or "create new." There is also an option to include the knowledge article's discussion and resolution within the link (visible by clicking it).
  • Link changes – Click the Add icon to link related changes to the record, then select "search existing" or "create new."
  • Link releases – Click the Add icon to link related releases to the record, then select "search existing" or "create new."
  • Link affected items – The affected items section automatically includes the record's service and linked customers; in addition, related configuration items (CIs) can be linked by clicking the Add icon .

Tags

Tags are arbitrary labels that can be added to any record using the text field. Technicians can click a tag to see a list of results that includes all records with that tag, which can be filtered by state and service.

Time

Service Desk provides a time-recording functionality that enables technicians to log the time spent working on records, as well as access visualizations of the work completed and generate reports. Time management can be accessed by selecting Service Desk > Time.

Time users and time administrators can log time spent working on a record under the Time section. They can also click View All to see the full time log history for the individual record.

5. If desired, fill out the Build tab and Test tab. See Build Changes and Test Changes for more information.

6. Click Save when finished. See Submit a change for approval for next steps.

Submit a change for approval

Since the goal of changes is to provide a approval system for determining which changes are developed and which are skipped, submitting a change for approval is an important step in the process.

1. Create a change and fill out all fields.

2. Click the ? icon next to Submit for Approval.

3. Select 1 or more change approvers who must decline or approve a change plan before development can continue. Selecting 2 or more change approvers means that a response is required for all of them. All change approvers will be sent an email stating that this change has been submitted for approval (unless the change owner was a change approver themselves).

4. Click Submit for Approval. The status will be modified to "Change currently being reviewed for approval."

5. If the change is approved, see Build Changes for next steps. If it is declined, see Close and Delete Changes.

Approve a submitted change

Note: This feature is available for change approvers on the service only.

1. Open the change that needs to be reviewed.

2. Review the change plan, then click Decline or Approve.

  • Clicking Decline will prompt a "Decline Change" text box. Enter the reason for declining the change, then click Save. See Close and Delete Changes for next steps.

  • Clicking Approve will cause a "Change Approved" message to appear at the top, and the Plan tab to change to "Approved."

 

Related articles

Use Changes and Change Management

Build Changes

Test Changes

Close and Delete Changes