Preferences - GoToAssist Remote Support - LogMeIn

Find an Answer

Search GoToAssist Remote Support articles, videos and user guides   Your search term must have 2 or more characters.

Browse Articles

Preferences

Use the Preferences options to determine how you want Remote Support to perform.

Note: Access to the Unattended Support feature (including those described here) is dependent upon your user group settings or your individual user settings, which are set by your administrator.

Topics in this article:

Open the Preferences window

Change general preferences

Change screen sharing preferences

Change unattended support preferences

Open the Preferences window

You can open the Preferences window in the following ways:

  • If you are in a support session, click Tools > Preferences in the Viewer toolbar.

  • If you are not in a support session, right-click the GoToAssist Expert icon  in the system tray then select Preferences (Windows), or use the Application menu and go to GoToAssist Expert then select Preferences (Mac).

Windows

Mac

Change general preferences

  1. Open the Preferences window.
  2. Use the options on the General tab to make changes, as follows:
    • Start GoToAssist – Choose whether to have the GoToAssist Expert desktop application automatically launch when Windows starts up.
    • Remember me on this computer – Choose whether to have the GoToAssist Expertdesktop application remember your login and password.
    • Show a desktop notification when a customer joins my session – Choose whether to have a desktop notification display when a customer joins your session.
    • Play a sound when a customer joins my session – When selected, a sound will play to alert you when a customer joins your session.
    • Show desktop notifications for updates and other announcements – Choose whether to have information desktop notifications displayed during sessions.
    • Note: This feature is not available for Mac experts.

    • Run support sessions as a service on startup – When selected, the GoToAssist Customer application will run as a service automatically when connecting to a customer in an attended support session.
    • Uninstall customer application when session ends – When selected, the GoToAssist Customer desktop application will be removed from the customer's computer; if unselected, the application will remain installed and customers can join additional support sessions directly from it.
    • Language – Select the default language (i.e., English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, or Portuguese) for the GoToAssist Expert desktop application.
  3. Click OK when finished.

 

Change screen sharing preferences

  1. Open the Preferences window.
  2. Use the options on the Screen Sharing tab to make changes, as follows:

  • Color quality – Choose whether to optimize the color display for appearance (true color) or speed (256 colors).
  • Show remote cursor – Choose whether to see the customer's cursor in the agent Viewer (as opposed to only seeing your own cursor).

  • Pass system keys to remote computer – When selected, typing special keys (e.g., Alt + Tab) on your keyboard will successfully send the command to the customer's computer.
  • Performance settings – Choose to disable some of the display settings to help improve the speed and performance of screen sharing.
  • Multiple monitor notification – Choose whether to display the "multiple monitor" notification (shown below) at the start of support sessions with customers who have 2+ monitors set up for their computer.

  1. Click OK when finished.

Change unattended support preferences

  1. Open the Preferences window.
  2. Use the options on the Unattended Support tab to make changes, as follows:
    • Lock on disconnect – When selected, the customer's computer will automatically switch to the Login screen when unattended support sessions end.
    • Inactivity timeout – Choose to have sessions automatically end if they are inactive for a specified period of time.

  1. Click OK when finished.