Use Screen Sharing - GoToAssist Remote Support - LogMeIn

Find an Answer

Search GoToAssist Remote Support articles, videos and user guides   Your search term must have 2 or more characters.

Browse Articles

Use Screen Sharing

Screen sharing allows you to view your customer's desktop and control their mouse and keyboard remotely (they still retain priority control). When you begin a new support session, you automatically start by viewing your customer's desktop; you can then stop and restart screen sharing, or even share your own screen with the customer (known as "reverse screen sharing") when in session with Windows customers. With security in mind, remote screen sharing and mouse/keyboard control cannot be used without permission from your customer.

Note: To use remote control, this feature must be enabled in your account by an administrator.

Topics in this article:

Stop viewing your customer's screen

Re-start viewing your customer's screen

Share your own screen (in sessions with Windows customers only)

Blank out the customer's screen (in sessions with Windows customers only)

Re-size the GoToAssist Viewer

Re-size the customer's screen

Use the Monitor Navigation window

Screen sharing with multiple monitors

Stop viewing your customer's screen

  1. During an attended support session, click Screen Sharing.
  2. Select Stop Screen Sharing to stop viewing the customer's screen.

Re-start viewing your customer's screen

  1. During an attended support session, click Screen Sharing.
  2. Select the relevant option, as follows:
    • If screen sharing was stopped by you, click Start seeing [customer]'s screen to immediately re-start screen sharing.
    • If screen sharing was stopped by the customer, click Request to see [customer]'s screen. The customer will be prompted to approve screen sharing before you will be able to see their screen again.

Share your own screen (in sessions with Windows customers only)

Note: Agents cannot share their own screens when in session with Mac customers.

  1. During an attended support session, click Screen Sharing > Share My Screen.
  2. The customer will immediately be able to see your screen (including the GoToAssist Viewer) in the Customer Viewer. If desired, you can choose to allow the customer to control your mouse and keyboard by selecting Yes.

    Note: Allowing the customer keyboard and mouse control does not disallow your own control over your computer; your mouse movements will still have priority over theirs.

  1. To stop sharing your screen with the customer, click Screen Sharing > Stop Screen Sharing.

Blank out the customer's screen (in sessions with Windows customers only)

Note: Screen blanking is only supported when connected to Windows 7 customer machines.

  1. During a support session, click Screen SharingBlank Screen.
  2. The monitor on the customer side will immediately blank out, which renders anyone at the customer side unable to see the what occurs on the monitor.

Re-size the GoToAssist Viewer

  1. During and attended or unattended support session, click Screen Sharing in the Viewer toolbar.
  2. Use the available settings, as follows:
    • Window – Returns the GoToAssist Viewer to a floating window from full-screen mode
    • Full Screen – Puts the GoToAssist Viewer into full-screen mode

Note: You can also manually resize the Viewer by clicking and dragging the bottom-right corner.

Re-size the customer's screen

You can easily change the size of the image of the customer's desktop within the Viewer window without changing the size of the Viewer.

  1. During and attended or unattended support session, click Screen Sharing in the Viewer toolbar.
  2. Use the available zoom settings, as follows:

    Note: If the customer's desktop image is larger than the Agent Viewer, then a portion of their screen will be hidden. To move about the customer's desktop, hover your mouse at the edge of the Agent Viewer to scroll.

    • Actual Size – Shows the customer's screen at the actual size seen on the customer's side

  • Scale To Fit – Scales customer's screen to fit within the Viewer's current size; if you change the size of the Viewer, the screen will change automatically
  • Zoom To [Percentage] – Zooms in on customer's screen at the specified zoom percentage

Use the Monitor Navigation window

The Monitor Navigation window can be used when the customer's screen is zoomed in (i.e., a portion of the screen is hidden). It displays a thumbnail version of the customer's entire screen with a red box indicating the portion being currently displayed, allowing you to quickly and easily move to the desired part of the screen without using auto-scroll.

  1. During an attended or unattended support session, press and hold the Ctrl + keys on your keyboard.
  2. Still holding down the keys, click and hold your mouse on the image of the customer's screen in the Agent Viewer. The Monitor Navigation window displays a full-screen image of the customer's screen with a red box indicating the portion of the screen that is zoomed in.

  1. Release the keyboard keys but continue holding down the mouse button to keep the Monitor Navigation window open. Move your mouse about the screen to quickly maneuver to other zoomed-in areas while keeping track of your position on the Monitor Navigation window.
  2. To exit the Monitor Navigation window, simply release the mouse button.

Screen sharing with multiple monitors

If your customers have multiple monitors, Remote Support allows you to quickly can navigate between them a few different ways while in a session.

Use the following methods to navigate between monitors while screen sharing:

  • Scroll to another monitor by hovering your mouse over the arrow buttons located on either side of the Agent Viewer.
  • Quickly jump to another monitor by clicking the arrow buttons .

    Note: You can also hold down the Windows key on your keyboard and click the left or right arrow keys on the keyboard to quickly switch between monitors.

  • If you and your customer both have two monitors, view both of their monitors at the same time by holding the Shift key on your desktop and then clicking the Expand button at the top-right of the Viewer.
  • Use the Monitor Navigation window to move around and between monitors.