Block or Remove Unattended Access - GoToAssist Remote Support - LogMeIn

Find an Answer

Search GoToAssist Remote Support articles, videos and user guides   Your search term must have 2 or more characters.

Browse Articles

Block or Remove Unattended Access

Once an agent sets up unattended access on a customer's computer, they can choose to temporarily block or completely remove the agent's ability to access their computer.

Note: Customers cannot block or remove unattended access while in an attended support session.

Topics in this article:

Block access temporarily on Windows

Block access temporarily on Mac

Remove from Windows permanently

Remove from Mac permanently

Block access temporarily on Windows

Blocking unattended access allows customers to reinstate agent access at any time without having to go through the unattended support set-up process all over again, but prevents agents from accessing the customer's computer without their knowledge in the meantime. When the "Block Access" option is enabled, the customer's computer will appear as "Blocked" to the agent and they will be unable to connect to it.

  1. Right-click the GoToAssist Customer in the system tray and hover the cursor of your mouse over Unattended Access.

    Note: If the icon does not appear in your system tray, find the application on your computer and open it.

  1. Select Block Access from the Unattended Access drop-down menu.

  1. A Check mark icon will appear next to the "Block Access" option to confirm that unattended access is currently blocked. To allow the agent to access your machine once again, repeat Steps 1 - 2. The Check mark icon will disappear and agents will once again be able to access the computer.

Block access temporarily on Mac

  1. Click the GoToAssist Customer from the Apple Menu bar and hover the mouse over Unattended Access.

    Note: If the icon does not appear in the Apple Menu bar, find the application on your computer and open it.

  1. Select Block Access from the Unattended Access drop-down menu.

  1. A Check mark icon will appear next to the "Block Access" option to confirm that unattended access is currently blocked. To allow the agent to access your machine once again, repeat Steps 1 - 2. The Check mark icon will disappear and the agent will once again be able to access the computer.

Remove from Windows permanently

Customers can completely remove unattended access from their computers to prevent agents from having access. If they wish to temporarily block access (but intend to reinstate it at a later time), see Block access temporarily on Windows.

Note: The process for uninstalling an application from your computer varies by operating system; the following process applies to Windows 7. See your operating system's manual for more information.

  1. Click the Windows Start button > Control Panel > Programs and Features.
  2. Right-click the GoToAssist Expert desktop application and click Uninstall.

  1. When prompted to confirm the uninstallation, click Yes to continue.

  1. When the application has been removed, click Close on the confirmation prompt.

Remove from Mac permanently

Note: The steps for uninstalling an application varies by operating system; the following process applies to OS X 10.11 (El Capitan). See your operating system's manual for more information.

  1. Click the Finder icon in your user Dock.

  1. Click Applications from the Favorites menu in the left navigation.
  2. Open the GoToAssist folder.
  3. Open the Uninstall GoToAssist application.

  1. When prompted, click Remove.

  1. When prompted, enter your administrator password.
  2. Click OK.

  1. The GoToAssist Customer icon will be removed from your Menu bar when the uninstallation is complete.